RSS

8 responses to “Aftermath of a Critique

  1. Erin Collins

    November 15, 2009 at 7:24 pm

    I like it. You took what he said to heart, without taking it personal like I did. I understand that it was his critique, but even watching the other critiques he did, I just got this vibe that he thinks everything that everyone does looks just like every other photo he’s ever seen. I don’t know, there was just a hint of arrogance in his critique that I was put off by. I know he’s good, and he knows what he’s talking about, but come on! Anyway, love the changes, and keep up the AMAZING work!

     
  2. Zack Arias

    November 16, 2009 at 9:48 am

    Bravo! Critique well taken point by point.

    Remember… I’m only one voice in a sea of thousands. You have to gather several trusted voices together and then filter it down from there. Sounds like you are doing some good filtering!

    Cheers,
    Zack

     
    • squeekphoto

      November 16, 2009 at 10:19 am

      Thanks Zack! It’s kinda hard when I can see both sides…

       
  3. Zack Arias

    November 16, 2009 at 9:50 am

    @Erin – Honestly, if I was an arrogant photographer, I wouldn’t take the time to do these critiques and be so quick to point out my own mistakes. Just sayin’.

    Cheers,
    Zack

     
    • Erin Collins

      November 17, 2009 at 10:24 pm

      I was wondering if I would get a response to that :)

      Understood. I definitely agree with Kristen, that you do need to hear things that will help make you grow. And I would like to make a point that I don’t think that you (Zach) are arrogant because it is great that you take the time to help others. My apologizes for making it sound that way. I think that I’m just so impressed with the way Kristen has grown in the last few years, and I completely look to her for guidance – that I just think she can do no wrong!! haha.
      Anyway, thank you Zach for all you do for us struggling to make it somewhere in this biz. Someday I will have the courage that Kristen did and submit my stuff for you to critique…….but not yet ;)
      Erin

       
  4. Julia

    November 16, 2009 at 11:30 pm

    Hi Kristen!

    I follow tweets mentioning @zarias, which is how I found your rebuttal. You took the non-sugar-coated criticism so well! My husband was put off with Zack’s style in the last critique (the only one he’s seen), but I do think that Zack is saying things photographers need to hear. And most of the time, even asking for critiques on flickr, etc, you’re still mainly only going to be told what’s complimentary. Which isn’t of any use to help one grow and improve!

    Since you are getting work with both types of photography thrown in together, I’d say try it apart as an experiment and see what happens. I imagine you’ll still be getting work, either way, but that there’d be better potential staying more focused. I even see quite a few folks on etsy separate their handmade work that is similar but different enough to deserve a separate grouping with a different etsy store. You can always link to your other site in an “about the photographer” type of section.

    I love the name of your photography business! I also was a bit confused by your logo, though. I think if you were still shooting animals, then your logo would be appropriate, but otherwise, I much prefer the loop-y type logo you have on this page. Yes, more generic, but not confusing at least.

    Lastly, I’d like to say that it’s awesome seeing a female doing such a great job with lighting! On the strobist blog, his survey showed a following of about 4% female, so you are definitely one of the few!!

    Julia

    PS – Oh yeah, I couldn’t easily find a link back to your professional website from your blog. I only found it when I saw your old logo embedded in the content of this post.

     
    • squeekphoto

      November 17, 2009 at 9:47 am

      @Julia – Thanks so much for taking the time to read and reply to my blog! I’d just recently moved it to a “real” blogging site and am still working out a few things. I hadn’t realized that I didn’t have a link back to my main site!!! EEK! I’m going to fix that now! =)

      4%? I knew I was a minority, but yeesh! That’s a VERY tiny percent. Wow.

      And the ultimate plan will be to make a site for the family friendly stuff that clashes so much with the Character stuff I’ve been doing these days. I’m just waiting until I can afford to do it right. Buy the domain (not sure what I want there though yet) and also get a similar website to what I have – hosted and whatnot. I’ll probably link to it in several places on the current site. Definitely a link on the current landing page, and maybe it’s own tab. Something like that.

      Anywho, I totally agree with your whole first paragraph! Whenever I ask for critiques from – well, ANYONE ELSE – I tend to hear alot of “that’s nice/neat/cool” or “wow” but nothing much negative and that is the stuff that makes you grow! It’s not easy to listen to… but it is necessary! =)

      Thanks again!

      ~Squeek!

       
  5. Zack Arias

    November 17, 2009 at 11:31 pm

    @Julia – Let not your heart be troubled. 60% or more of the attendees at my lighting workshops are women. I’ve had more workshops than I can count where they were ALL women! I taught 40 people in Australia this summer. Only one was a dude. :)

    Cheers,
    Zack

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

