RSS

iheartfaces Fix-it-Friday – Squeek Photo image edit process

28 Jan

I heart Faces logoI’ve not participated in ihearfaces Fix-it-Friday before. I’ve only recently started following them on facebook… but when I saw this – it looked like it might be fun to try my hand at editing someone elses image.

So here’s the original photo (or SOOC, straight out of camera):

from iheartfaces”]I did quite a lot to this photo. I tried to be as detailed as possible in my process… and I hope you can follow along as I copy my notes here:

 

1. Open in Adobe Camera Raw and adjust some settings on the base image.

*exposure -.10   *recovery +30   *fill light +26   *blacks +5   *contrast +34   *clarity +17   *vibrance +19

2. Apply settings and opened in Photoshop CS5.

3. Patch tool on spittle on chin.

4. Command + J to duplicate background

5. Patch tool on bags under eyes then layer opacity to 74%.

6. Flatten and snapshot (History).

7. Square select tool – select the light. Hit delete key. Choose Content-Aware and hit ‘ok’.

8. Command + D to deselect. Then patch tool again to touch up the content-aware deleted area a bit.

9. Sent to Imaginomic Portraiture (photoshop plug-in) for skin.

*smoothing: normal.   *selected mainly the darker/shadowed portion of skin on face (across the cheek and nose) with eyedropper+ tool.   *luminance +74.

10. Back to photoshop CS5. Flatten layers and snapshot.

11. Ran MCP Action, Flashlight (‘All in the Details’ set) – to lighten shadows a bit. Command + i to invert the mask.

12. Paint brush tool at 30% opacity – started going over shadows to light a bit on face/hat/shirt and hands. Layer Opacity at 100%.

13. Ran MCP Action, Eye Doctor. Used paint brush tool at 30% opacity on each layer mask in the action – to taste.

14. Flatten layers and snapshot.

15. Image/Adjustments/Color Balance

*midtones: -1, +2, -11    *hightlights: 0,0,-4    *shadows: -16,0,-3     *hit ‘ok’.

16. Ran MCP Action, Magical Color-Finder Brush [intense] (MCP’s Bag of Tricks). Brush at 100% – masked hat/shirt/sleves/seat and legs *NO SKIN*. Then set the layer opacity to 27%.

17. Flatten and snapshot.

18. Totally Rad Action, Select-o-Pop. Masked eyes with 100% opacity brush and set the layer opacity down to 58%.

19. Flatten and snapshot.

20. Ran Florabella Action, Sharpen/Defog (Florabella Spring Set 1). and Flattened/snapshot.

21. Ran Florabella Action, Wildflower (Florabella Spring Set 1). Layer opacity at 60%. and Flattened/shapshot.

22. Command + J to duplicate the background layer.

23. Command + Shift + U to desaturate layer.

24. Command + L to bring up the layers tweak pallet. # Values [left to right] 57/1.06/249   *hit ‘ok’*.

25. Set the layer blend mode to Overlay.

26. Filter/other/hi-pass – Radius 5.5 pixels. *hit ‘ok’*.

27. Burn tool on grey layer – small sized brush, midtones @ 7%. Used the burn tool on shadows around nose, mouth, eyes, fingers and toes to help bring those back just a little bit.

28. Flatten and Saved.

Fix-It-Friday_SqueekPhoto.com Edit

Edit by Squeek Photography

Click on the images to see them larger!

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this. I hope it was informative enough for ya too. It took me WAY longer to write this up than it did to actually edit the photo. lol! I think total edit time was maybe 10 minutes, tops.

If you’ve never tried one of these before… go pop over to iheartfaces.com and give it a try! And feel free to share any links you like here on my blog too! I’d love to see what you create! =)  Maybe I’ll post an image to see what others can create with my work! Whatdaya think?! Should I? =)

~Squeek!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on January 28, 2011 in how to, Photography, tutorial

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “iheartfaces Fix-it-Friday – Squeek Photo image edit process

  1. Sarah Lucas

    January 28, 2011 at 2:20 pm

    Good job with a hard edit.

     
  2. S Lucy (CreativeSkyyPhotography&Design)

    January 28, 2011 at 2:51 pm

    Wow thats awesome, you got the eyes to look amazing, mine look like dark violet blobs lol I suppose being able to recover some of the lost data in lightroom helped in that area?! I have never worked on a raw image and/or used lightroom so I don’t know

     
    • squeekphoto

      January 28, 2011 at 3:00 pm

      Thanks! If you don’t have the Photoshop actions, another way to get the eyes to pop is to overlay a texture.. Mask it, and then paint in with a low opacity over the iris. This can help give depth to the eyes too. There’s some great textures around on flickr if you search a bit. Just look for ones that are hi-res and free to use. 🙂

       
  3. Kristen

    January 28, 2011 at 11:31 pm

    that was a tough edit! Thanks for such a detailed post 🙂 I like how clean her skin looks! Nice job

     
    • squeekphoto

      January 29, 2011 at 3:27 am

      I was a little worried that I had too much detail for this post…. I’m glad you like it! That makes me feel good! 🙂 I recently picked up imaginomic’s portraiture plug-in for photoshop for skin edits, and I’m super pleased with it so far! I’d recommend it for sure!

       
  4. math games

    February 5, 2011 at 3:34 pm

    thanks

     

Leave a Reply

 
